Songs and stuff..

I’m toying with the idea of putting a clip on here somewhere of me singing. Not sure if I’m going to do it or not yet, a few things I need to think about first I guess.. firstly I may not like all the comments I get, and secondly, I’m not sure if it’s a bloggy type of thing to do.
As I’ve said before I love singing, I adore singing.. It’s something that can not be taken away from me, while I have air in my lungs I can sing, and I do.
Lately I’ve been belting my lungs out to Adele. I love “set fire to the rain” and “someone like you” and “rolling in the deep” I love nothing better than cranking the music up and singing, I pour my heart into it, and give it everything I have, and for those moments, it’s just me and the music.
Another song I’ve loved singing lately is by one of my favorite Aussie singers, Shannon Noll.. I really admire him, he’s your typical Aussie fella, married has kids, but the difference between my husband and him is he got lucky on Australian Idol and got a break doing what he loves.. It didn’t change him (which is the best part about it I think) anyway the song I love of his at the moment is called “Switch me on” if I can work out how to do a link I’ll link it in for you πŸ™‚ I hope this works!
This song really speaks to me.. I really really relate to it. For me it’s about being in this dark place, not loving myself or thinking I was worthy of another’s love.. And then finding self acceptance, finally embracing my gifts and talents and feeling the complete love we should all have in this world. The surprising thing is, the acceptance never came from where I expected it to, or from where I hoped, but it’s there.

Once I was “Switched on” I felt an entire new world open up to me. One where my dreams can infact come true. For example, in my worlds wildest dreams I’ve always wanted to:

  • Be paid to sing at a bar
  • Sing at a Wedding
  • Have my singing recorded
  • Meet Kelley Armstrong.

Within the space of 12 months, all of these things happened. It was AMAZING, it still makes me smile now. Β So when all of this stuff started happening, I began to worry, maybe I was going to cark it soon (hehehehe) So I added more things to my dreams list.. and you guessed it, I’m ticking those babies off too πŸ˜€

This year I am meeting Doreen Virtue, another long time dream, and we are taking the whole entire family to Queensland for a holiday that I WON! so that’s really exciting. Β Dreams do come true, but you have to dream them first, that is the true catch!

Perhaps in future blogs I’ll tell you a bit more about the moments where my dreams came true, but for now, I think I’ll leave it at this. Have a wonderful weekend and may every happiness smile down upon you.

Savvyannah xx

By savvyannah

6 comments on “Songs and stuff..

  1. I watched the video, and I was struck by how similar his body was to mine – not. πŸ˜‰

    It’s great to hear things have been going so well for you lately, and doors are starting to open. I, for one, would love to hear you sing, and I don’t see anything wrong with putting an MP3 or link to Youtube on your blog. Writers put their own work on their blogs all the time – it’s simply a question of whether you feel ready to do that. Personally, I hope you feel you are… πŸ™‚

    • Aw thanks πŸ™‚
      I’ll have to see what the week brings… πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you watched the clip (even gladder {if that’s a word?} that it worked) thanks so much for your comment, it’s awesome knowing people are reading my blog πŸ™‚

  2. The Shannon Noll video was blocked for U.S. – but I found another on YouTube. Good powerful voice!

    I really like what’s happening in music lately – I’m seeing more variety and experimentation. And Adele has a gorgeous voice. Loved her cover of The Cure’s “Love Song” – nothing like taking even a classic song and giving it a new spin to bring it out in a new way.

    It sounds like you had one heckuva last 12 months! Keep those dreams rolling!

  3. Well it’s going to be a bit longer before you all can hear me.. Seems my mixpad doesn’t work the way I thought it would, so as they like to say “We are currently experiencing technical difficulties” which means when I recorded myself and played it back, I sounded like a chimpunk, ahead of the song….. back to the drawing board I guess!

Leave a Reply

