technology, friendships and learning

I was hoping this week to post a little snippet of myself singing, but sadly the programme doesn’t seem to want to play the game.. so it’s going to be a little while longer in waiting for that one!

This week I’ve found myself thinking a lot about lost friendships and how I feel about it all.. while I firmly believe people come into your life for a reason, I also believe they leave for a reason too.. Sometimes however, that reason isn’t really obvious.

Last year was a huge year in cleansing for me and moving forward with my life.. as I’ve mentioned before I was able to have a lot of dreams come true last year and they’ve been instrumental in how I feel now. Coupled with that I also lost a few friendships, at the time I thought this was awful and I was really upset, but looking back now I can see that these friendship really weren’t that good for me.

The reason I’m writing about these friendships ending is because over the last 12 months I’ve had some new friendships come into my life. These are friendships that I never imagined I would forge such a close bond with, especially over such a small time period. Some of these new friends live in my city, but  one friend is on the other side of the world to me!

Even though she’s just getting up for work when I’m heading off to bed, this friendship is as important to me as all of my other ones.  We have a lot of similar interests, and I love that we can share our love of  our favourite author together (I don’t actually have a friend in Australia who is quite as passionate about Kelley Armstrong’s books as I am).

What fascinates me so much about all of this, is that 15 years ago, this friendship wouldn’t have been option to me. With the way technology has grown we are able to have friends all over the world, and keep in contact with them all.  I am truly grateful for everything this age has brought to me, and to my children.

For instance, last year my daughter had to do a school project on children experience school in other countries, her country was Uganda… now back when I was in school, you would have had the option of encyclopedias, and then when I was in highschool, maybe the computers if you were allowed internet access… but Aanya actually emailed a school in Uganda and interviewed a principal over there.

I was amazed at how easily the information was accessed, and how she was able to connect with this information. Seeing You-tube clips really made her absorb and understand the culture a lot easier and made it “real” this wasn’t just a story to her, she could easily see that their way of life is really different to ours.

I really believe our lives are better for all of the technology available to us, as long as you are responsible with it! It’s just like anything really, it’s not the tool to blame for any problems, it’s all about how you use it.

By savvyannah

13 comments on “technology, friendships and learning

  1. I know the feeling about technology. There are times I feel really outdated and slow (I’m still getting to grips with my Kindle and it takes me a while to do things on it.) Yet I’m amazed at how far things have moved on.

    Like you, I remember the fun of a whole host of things and we’ve all gone from Vinyl/or/tape to cd and then onto digital MP3 etc. Its a revolution and at times I feel that I’m usually at least one step behind.
    (Another example was when I went to see Avengers I finally saw 3D for the first time (the old red and green glasses never worked for me.)

    It was a revelation and whilst the next gen will absorb all this as just normal, its a marvel to me. I’m pleased that your daughter had the foresight to so that with the school in Uganda, that shows a lot of thought and also of a parent who’s passionate for thier child to learn. My day it was libraries and letters so it took forever to do anything.

    Great post.

  2. An observant post. I can’t imagine being a writer without technology. My handwriting is appalling, my thought processes erratic. I have no patience. With the right tech. I can compensate for all the things that would suck the joy out of writing.

    Online friendships can be tricky. It’s easy to lose touch if the website/forum where you meet closes down as happened to my wife’s crafting group a few months ago. She had a few email addresses, but many people moved on. I suppose that’s like real life though…

    I was impressed with your daughter’s initiative, I think most kids would have stuck at Wikipedia and Youtube.

    • Thanks 🙂 my little girl has amazing confidence and is full of ideas.. She was listening to children read in her brothers class when she was only 4.. Little bit of a bright spark there 🙂

  3. Excellent post. I’m a fan of certain aspects of the modern world – especially how its allowed me to find a whole slew of people who share the same interests as me. I like a balance though of real-life coffee chat and internet friends. What’s cool about forum friends is when you finally get to meet them in person!

  4. My family is scattered, like many are. My little brother is Air Force, stationed in Abilene TX when he’s not deployed overseas in an undisclosed location. My little sister is doing stem cell research in Montreal. My mother lives in Thailand and my father lives several states away in the US.
    Technology allowed my grandmother in Thailand to hear my first podcast – me narrating my latest steampunk release, that I’d set in 1863 Thailand (then Siam) – a week before she went to sleep and never woke up again. We completed her funeral services yesterday.
    My mother says my grandmother loved hearing my podcast and enjoyed my story. For that, I’m very grateful for technology and the way it allows us to keep in touch with those far away.

  5. I like technology for the same reasons you mention – research and connecting with others.

    And also because, like TJ, my handwriting is terrible. I tried to improve my penmanship by using my other hand, and discovered that whenever I switch hands, I automatically emulate the same handwriting – only it’s angled a little differently.

  6. Writing without technology would be horrific for me. Cloud storage, my writing software, USB sticks, the internet. All of them make writing much easier than doing it by hand.

  7. It’s at a point now where we couldn’t function without the technology that has changed our world. I too rely heavily on it. What’s always interesting to me is how the younger generation (now I sound old) can’t imagine life any other way. My father tried to explain to my niece recently how an old telephone switchboard worked back in the day. She got that same look on her face as when I told her the story of when I sent my first fax on thermal paper or learned to type on a typewriter (it doesn’t seem that long ago).

  8. I know what you mean! I’ve met amazing people on line who I would never have had the opportunity to meet otherwise! I also agree wholeheartedly about people coming into and leaving our lives for a reason. It’s heartbreaking when a friendship ends, especially if you desperately want to cling to it in hopes that things will work out but sometimes it really is for the best. Life has a funny way of twisting things for us.

Leave a Reply

